Guide to eBooks at the Vanier College Library

eBooks are online, digital copies of books. They are accessible anytime and from anywhere, on campus or beyond, from a computer, laptop, or mobile device. The library subscribes to six main databases of eBooks. These collections are multidisciplinary and offer eBooks on a variety of topics.

1. EBSCO eBook Collection
2. OverDrive/Libby eBook Collection
3. Gale eBook Collection
4. JSTOR eBook Collection
5. Science Direct College Edition (Elsevier)
6. Directory of Open-Access Books (DOAB)

Here is how to access our library's databases:

1. Visit the library website to access the Vanier College Database List. 
2. From the list of databases, select the one that you would like to access. 
3. Sign in to your Vanier account:
   • For students: Sign in with your student number @edu.vaniercollege.qc.ca
   • For employees: Sign in with your Vanier Pass @vaniercollege.qc.ca 

There are so many reasons to choose eBooks! Here are a few: 

• They are accessible from any device: computer, laptop, mobile device, etc.
• They are accessible from anywhere: on campus, at home, at the coffee shop. They go where you go!
• They are accessible at any time of the day (go ahead and read one at 3am!) 
• The library will not charge you any overdue fines for eBooks, as they get returned automatically. 
• There are many eBooks that are completely free to access for anyone (ex. DOAB)
• They are better for the environment (no paper or ink used). 
• You can adjust the reading settings to your preference (font size, spacing, margins, etc.).
• Some platforms also allow you search through the text to quickly find a passage you are looking for.
• Some platforms even have a built-in dictionary and thesaurus that give you real time definitions of words.

So, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and start borrowing eBooks today!